Power of Words: “Right Now”

We all have rough days. Some years we have 365 in a row. But when addressing a challenging situation, I’ve learned two words that make it more bearable. They put things into perspective. Whatever my frustration or impossible situation, I describe it as being “right now.”

Read these sentences, then reread them with the added ending “right now.”

“My house is a mess (right now).”

“My kids a incorrigible (right now).”

“I’m exhausted (right now).”

“I’m overweight (right now).”

“We have a lot of debt (right now).”

Without the descriptive “right now,” our situation is has no definitive end. The impossible becomes our identity. Our reality. The Spanish language has two words for “to be,” one of which is a permanant or long-term descriptor (Times Square is in New York), and the other is a temporary descriptor, or how it is “right now” (Times Square is empty).

When we add “right now” to how we view our situation, it gives it an end, no matter how vague the timeline. It suggests that our situation is temporary, and it will change at some time in the future. “Right now” gives us hope for “at some point in the future.”

For example,

“My house is a mess right now, but:

  • “I’ll have it clean before I go to bed tonight.”
  • “I’ll have it clean in time for the party on Saturday.”
  • “I will be able to clean when the kids move out.”

“I’m exhausted right now, but:

  • This coffee will kick in any minute.”
  • I’ll feel better after a nap.”
  • I’ll feel better when the kids move out.”

No matter what your “impossible” situation, remember that it is temporary and will soon enough be a memory. (Remember that paper in college that you thought you’d never finish?) Most situations require one diligent step after a another, while other situations require a lot of prayer and patience. Some change comes by the end of the day or week, while other change comes at an unidentified time in the future.

So, what impossible situation are you in right now?  Is your marriage difficult right now? Kids misbehaving? Stress at work? A family situation? Or maybe it’s the dirty laundry pile that has overtaken my your walk-in closet? Try describing it as being “right now,” and if you only have strength for one step, then take one step.

Now it’s time for me to wash my first load of laundry, and maybe I’ll have it dried and put away before the kids move out.

Leave a Reply

