7×7 Day Twelve: Getting More Comfortable

8:00am and the routine is done! Well, kind of. I was so tired last night that I didn’t actually get the dishes washed, but I didn’t even have half a dishwasher full, so they can sit in the dishwasher until later today when I can fill and run it, then put them away tomorrow.

I’m finally getting more comfortable in the routine. There are times when I’m easily distracted from it and have to redirect myself, but for the most part I don’t have to refer back to my list every hour until finally completing the last task at 4pm.

Today’s Early Start:

Last night we started the kids on a poker chip system for Netflix, where they each get one chip per day and can cash it in to watch one show. (We’ll give them opportunity to earn extra chips or accumulate them as they get more used to the idea). So my four-year-old came charging in to my room at 6:30 in the morning with her hand outstretched saying, “Mama!” (Groggy: “Whaaaattt?”). So she watched her TV show early in the morning and I had my motivation to get out of bed. This means I’ll need to get up earlier in order to complete the routine before the kids wake up, but moving in that direction, the grownups were in bed by 11pm last night!

New Goals:

In addition to the morning routine, which is becoming more natural, it’s time to start working some other goals back into the day. These are more of the one-time project or “recovery” goals that are done once. The kind of three-hour project that sets me up for 10-minute maintenance further down the road.

Right now, that project is making the kitchen spotless. We’ve come a long way in getting things off the counter/table that don’t belong, though the counters still feel cluttered and the table is a magnet for incoming stuff

Here’s the checklist for the kitchen. (Stay tuned to future blogs as we cross things off the list!

  • Find places for the kitchen items still cluttering the counters.
  • Clear the floors
  • Relocate contents of the floor cabinet and replace with dishes (so kids can help with setting table and putting away dishes)
  • Wipe down all surfaces, including stovetop and front, and fridge
  • Sweep and mop
Leave a Reply

