7×7 Day Eight Epiphany

And let us run with perseverance the race marked out for us, fixing our eyes on Jesus, the pioneer and perfecter of faith. For the joy set before him he endured the cross, scorning its shame, and sat down at the right hand of the throne of God. Hebrews 12:1b-2

I always find so much encouragement in the Word of God. Sure it’s 9am (on a Saturday) and I’m just starting my list, but I was so encouraged by this I wanted to share it right away.

Dave Ramsey talks about running literal marathons and what to do when you get tired halfway through. “Don’t look at the next 13 miles, look at the last 13 miles you’ve already completed.” (My paraphrase.) Ramsey compares marathons with financial freedom, but the principle still applies.

I’m not halfway on my journey to “mess freedom,” but I’m far enough to be tired. I do the same thing at the gym with a challenging new routine. “If I can do eight, I can do ten,” even when the goal is 40. Taking the goal in chunks, one step (day) at a time makes it a lot less overwhelming. And remembering what I’ve been able to do collectively compared to the next one thing on my list makes the next item seem less daunting.

If I can do seven days of 7×7, I can do eight. And if I can do eight, I can do nine.

Leave a Reply

