One Habit at a Time

20140227-094854.jpg

Confession time: making the bed is no longer on my to-do list. It used to be, but it isn’t any more. Why not? For the same reason brushing my teeth and going to the bathroom aren’t on my to-do list. They are habits. Besides focusing on one thing at a time on a day-to-day basis, we are focusing on one habit at a time on a month-to-month basis.

January’s focus was making the bed. At first, it got made two or three times a week, even though it was on my to-do list every day. Then it got done more and more frequently. By the end of the month, it was done every day. Now, if it’s not made and I’m not sleeping in it, I stop what I’m doing and make the bed. The kids are used to it (and sometimes help). The adults are used to it. And I love coming to bed every night and pulling back the covers.

For February, loading and unloading the dishwasher are on my to-do list every day. It’s becoming more of a habit to the point where next month, it won’t even be on the list. It will just get done.

As for March’s habit, I think we’ll just play it by ear. But it will probably be something in the kitchen again. Maybe clearing the table and counters every night? I’ll keep you posted.

Leave a Reply

