Taking Friday “Off”

Two perspectives on the Stay-at-Home Mom (SAHM):

  1. They don’t work.
  2. They never stop working.

Both perspectives contain a degree of truth, although I swing toward the latter. Dishes, laundry, cooking, repeat. Now, throw in educational enrichment for the kids, relationship building with the husband, commitments outside the home, and  time for ourselves (if we can swing it), and it’s no wonder many SAHMs (if they’re being honest) can feel burned out.

With that being said, I discovered something wonderful on Friday. It’s called, “Taking a day off,” and I am a changed woman!

Help My Home :: Taking Friday Off
Friday was the first time in a while I can remember doing nothing, on purpose. Sleep in, leave the kids with a friend, morning and lunch with my husband, put the kids down for a nap, make dinner, and go to bed relatively early.

No housework except to wash and put away the day’s dishes.

Going to bed refusing to “worry” about the things that didn’t get done that day or what needed to be done tomorrow. Don’t get me wrong, I was tempted to run through the mental checklist of all the things that needed to be done the next day, but then I re-discovered another wonderful thing: prayer, and turning the thoughts and worries of the day over to God.

I’m pretty sure that’s the fastest I’ve ever fallen asleep.

After a refreshing day off on Friday, we were back to work on Saturday with cleaning, dishes, and a considerable amount of laundry. But the task wasn’t so daunting this time around after a physically restful and spiritually revitalizing day off.

Leave a Reply

