This, Too, Shall Pass

“I’ll post a new blog as soon as I can find the camera battery and take some pictures to go with it.” Or, I’ll give up on finding the camera battery for now and share this post that’s been in the queue waiting for pictures.

Option 3: Find a photo on the internet and properly credit it. (Photo Courtesy of ford.com)

Option 3: Find a photo on the internet and properly credit it. (Photo Courtesy of ford.com)

Kids misbehaving, stress, and things undone are a self-perpetuating cycle, and lead to burnout.

And then something random divine occurs that reminds us that things aren’t so bad, after all.

While on a mini-cation (aka a trip to the grocery store after the kids go to bed), I spotted a Mustang convertible in the parking lot, top down, with a suite case in the back.

I wanted to scream “DON’T DO THAT!” and warn her about the time I left down the top of my 1986 VW Cabriolet and someone dumped garbage into the back and front seat. Literally. I was working the late shift at McDonald’s, and someone with access to the McDonald’s dumpsters took a full garbage bag and put it in my car. French fries, ketchup, soft drinks, yuck. High school was rough for me, and some of my co-workers were also some of my meanest classmates.

That moment in the grocery store parking lot was when I realized, as difficult as those high school years were, and as much as I thought I would never make it through, I did.

Now, I’m not rushing things by any means. I savor the good moments and take deep breaths through the bad. But I realized that those high school years are a memory now, and some day, the screaming kids and today’s unwashed dishes will be at worst a memory, and at best, who knows?

Leave a Reply

