Stop Doing Chores

My toddler has the cleanest room in our home. Every night, she puts her toys in their assigned baskets and her clothes in the hamper. She picks up her diaper, says “Garbage” in her 23-month-old dialect, and throw it away. Why is that?!

We started “picking up” toys together when she was six months old. It’s not a chore for which she is responsible, it’s just what we’ve done for as long as she can remember.

Imagine if we viewed our adult tasks as “chores” and decided to put them off:

“I don’t feel like getting dressed, so I’ll go naked.”
“I’m too tired to brush my teeth, so I’ll let them rot.”
“I went to work yesterday, so today I’ll stay home.”

We recognize that this is ridiculous, yet easily put off housework because we don’t “feel” like doing chores.

So in our house, we’re changing our mindset. I posted a sign and banned the phrase “feel like” from the home. We now do dishes because it’s what we do, not because it’s a chore.

It's not a chore, it's what we do

What “chores” are you avoiding at home that require a new mindset?

Leave a Reply

